Pingala Interactions In Computing

Pingala Interactions In Computing

ACM India Council is pleased to announce the launch of its flagship research networking event “Pingala Interactions in Computing (PIC)”. PIC will bring together some of the best minds in Computing over four days annually to network in an interactive and immersive atmosphere and promote scientific exchange of the highest quality.

Named after Pingala, ancient Indian mathematician and the creator of Binary Numeral System, PIC will comprise about 50 young Indian and international researchers combined, interacting with eminent laureates in Computing, to derive inspiration and motivation from role models and peers, and exchanging their research ideas within this elite company. The presence of eminent laureates and participants selected after a highly competitive selection process promises to make it one of the most sought after and respected networking events for young Computing researchers organized in India.


The level of computing contributions and research from India compares to any in the world. Nevertheless, there is a significant need for creating a collaborative research environment among India’s young researchers both from academia (PhD students and post-docs) and industry through direct exposure to international researchers. On the other hand, we believe that the participants from the international community will benefit greatly from this in-depth interaction with India’s next generation of researchers and laureates, and will be able to establish future avenues of sustained research together. Inspired by the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings and the Heidelberg Laureate Forum (HLF), PIC is created with a distinct Indian differentiation to provide a relaxed but concentrated environment as a starting point of a sustained interaction, paving way for significant results in the medium term.

Laureates Composition


Recipients of prestigious awards: 3-4 international and 3-4 Indian


Breadth and diversity in expertise and experience


Lifelong (such as Turing Award, Abel Prize), mid-career (such as ACM Computing Prize / Infosys Foundation Prize / Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Prize / Outstanding Contributions in Computing by a Woman Award), young / early career (example Fields Medal, Early Career Researcher Award, Swarna Jayanti Fellowship)

When & Where

The inaugural edition of PIC will take place on Saturday-Tuesday 3rd – 6th February 2024 at the fabulous Mysore campus of Infosys, which provides a world class, self-contained facility where the participants will be able to concentrate on the interaction, secluded from any distractions. We thank Infosys for hosting this prestigious event for ACM India.


We are honored to have Prof. Robert Metcalfe (ACM Turing Award), Dr. Jeffrey Dean (ACM Prize in Computing, ACM Fellow, IEEE John von Neumann Medal), Prof. Tova Milo (Weizmann Prize, VLDB Women in Database Research Award, ACM Fellow) and Dr. Yael Tauman Kalai (ACM Prize in Computing) join us for this inaugural ACM India Pingala Interactions on Computing as international laureates, as well as Prof. Jayant Haritsa (Infosys Prize, Bhatnagar Prize, Swarna Jayanti Fellowship, ACM Fellow), Dr. Partha Pratim Talukdar (ACM India Early Career Researcher Award), Prof. Saket Saurabh (ACM India Early Career Researcher Award, Bhatnagar Prize), and Prof. Shweta Agrawal (ACM India Outstanding Contributions in Computing by a Woman Award, Swarna Jayanti Fellowship) as India laureates.

Robert Metcalfe

ACM Turing Award

Jeffrey Dean

ACM Prize in Computing, ACM Fellow, IEEE John von Neumann Medal

Tova Milo

Weizmann Prize, VLDB Women in Database Research Award, ACM Fellow

Yael Tauman Kalai

ACM Prize in Computing

Jayant Haritsa

Infosys Prize, Bhatnagar Prize, Swarna Jayanti Fellowship, ACM Fellow

Partha Pratim Talukdar

ACM India Early Career Researcher Award

Saket Saurabh

ACM India Early Career Researcher Award, Bhatnagar Prize

Shweta Agrawal

ACM India Outstanding Contributions in Computing by a Woman Award, Swarna Jayanti Fellowship

Participant Eligibility And
Selection Timeline

The participants will comprise 50 young researchers from India and abroad, carefully selected by an eminent jury. Students currently enrolled in PhD program in a Computing discipline (thesis topic identified) and active professional researchers (from academia or industry) with successful PhD defense date on or after 1st January 2019 will be eligible to apply as young researchers. For international applicants, Bachelors degree cannot be from India. The India-international split of participants will be 50-50 by design, and while selecting the participants within the two categories, we will be seeking parity in industry-academia, gender and geography. Thanks to a generous travel grant from ACM, we will provide travel support for the participants, up to $1200 for the international participants and up to Rs16000 for the Indian participants to supplement what they cannot obtain from other sources such as their institution or organization. The board and lodging will also be covered by the event, serving it as an incentive for prospective applicants without worrying about the financial aspects of participation in this forum.

Apply to Participate in PIC 2024

Young researchers residing in India and abroad, please apply now to participate in PIC 2024. Since the seats for this prestigious research event and once-in-a-lifetime experience are limited, the selection process will be quite competitive. An independent international selection committee will review the applications and make the final selections. The selected participants will be informed over email along with further logistics.

Please apply via the following link:

Applications for participation are now closed. Selected participants have been informed via email.

Residents of the Indian subcontinent and ASEAN region are strongly encouraged to apply.

PIC 2024 Selection Committee

Committee Chair

Prof. Ponnurangam Kumaraguru, IIIT Hyderabad

Committee Members

Prof. Amit Awekar, IIT Guwahati

Prof. Arnab Bhattacharya, IIT Kanpur

Prof. Vivek Bohara, IIIT Delhi

Prof. Anirban Chakraborty, IISc Bangalore

Prof. Ayon Chakraborty, IIT Madras

Prof. Kameswari Chebrolu, IIT Bombay

Prof. Sridhar Chimalakonda, IIT Tirupathi

Prof. Venkatesh Choppella, IIIT Hyderabad

Prof. Anirban Dasgupta, IIT Gandhinagar

Prof. Anwitaman Datta, NTU Singapore

Dr. Lipika Dey, TCS

Dr. Tanuja Ganu, Microsoft

Prof. David Garcia, Germany

Prof. Binto George, Western Illinois University

Dr. Iulia Ion, Snowflake USA

Prof. Subrahmanyam Kalyanasundaram, IIT Hyderabad

Prof. Ugur Kursuncu, Georgia State University

Prof. Vinayak Naik, BITS Goa

Mr. Nitendra Rajpu, Mastercard

Dr. Anush Sankaran, Microsoft Research Canada

Prof. Shin’ichi Satoh, NII Japan

Prof. Srinath Srinivasa, IIIT Bangalore

Dr. Balaji Vasan Srinivasan, Adobe Research

Prof. A V Subramanyam, IIIT Delhi

Prof. Shambhu Upadhyaya, University at Buffalo, US



ACM India Institutional Partners

Platinum Tier Partners

ACM India Institutional Partners
ACM India Institutional Partners

Gold Tier Partners

ACM India Institutional Partners

Silver Tier Partners

ACM India Institutional Partners
ACM India Institutional Partners
ACM India Institutional Partners
ACM India Institutional Partners